Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Please help - cannot access website from my network

  1. #1
    Email problem
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Please help - cannot access website from my network

    hi all,

    I'm having an issue i have a website and email I'm hosting on my server everything was working well but yesterday i was not able to access that website anymore.

    if i try to browse the site i get "server DNS address could not be found." if i try to ping it i get could not find host. the funny thing is all other website on my server with same server ip works fine only this one.

    The other thing is i have set up email in outlook for that domain let say domainx.com. if i try to browse domainx.com cannot access it but in outlook email@domainx.com i can send and receive email without a problem.

    Its not just from my pc but other devices laptop ,ipad. but only on my phone i can access the site and ping it using ping tools all connect on same network. Anyone from other network can access the site just fine.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    have to tried clearing the cache and tried accessing again?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's possible that the pc is able to look up the domain and get an answer for the MX, where mail is sent to - that's why mail is working and see the domainx.com bit. Additionally the www record may need tweaking which could explain why you're able send/receive mail but not see www.domainx.com website.
    It's also highly probable that its something more simple than that. I'm happy to assist if you'd like to provide me with some more detail.
    Last edited by Dave A; 16-Jun-16 at 01:12 PM.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    First i will likw to ask you some question, Are you sure you are the only one who has the Cpanel access because it seems some configuration of the site might be tampered with and needs to be corrected which i suggest you contact your web-host for further assistant on your Domain DNS setup.

  5. #5
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    I'm trying to supress the notion that this might be a link building exercise for domainx.com

    About the best help page on the subject I could find using Google to look for a solution. Four possible solutions, well explained and complete with screenshots. Pretty much as dumbed down as a person might need that has never thought of using a Google search to find the solution to a pretty fundamental internet connectivity error message.

    I might have failed.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    I'm trying to supress the notion that this might be a link building exercise for domainx.com
    Same here when I gave him the benefit of the doubt and approved the post......
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  7. #7
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Seems we agree then - serverhenry is either a moron or a wizard.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try to use another browser to open it. If it works, the other browser should be corrupted by some dirty extensions like Getsportscore, remove it and try again. If this does not work on another browser, it is probably the code of your website coming up some issues.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member HR Solutions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Capetown/Jhb
    Posts
    3,329
    Thanks
    113
    Thanked 214 Times in 202 Posts
    Seems like a lot of dumb newbies from the US on the forum lately hey .....
    HR Solutions - Recruitment Specialists - Johannesburg & Capetown Tel: 0861-045-263
    Upload your CV @ www.2hrs.co.za

    Biometric Fingerprint Criminal Checks (AFIS)

Similar Threads

  1. Windows; Access is Denied..
    By adrianh in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-May-14, 01:12 PM
  2. Remote access to your PC
    By Eugene in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-Apr-13, 01:31 PM
  3. Access Loan
    By regim in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-Apr-12, 01:02 PM
  4. Cannot access TFSA
    By Neville Bailey in forum Administrative issues
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 25-Mar-11, 09:03 PM
  5. OT: Can anyone access http://www.rentacoder.com?
    By SilverNodashi in forum General Chat Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26-Mar-08, 09:35 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •