Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Flash Barrier Protection on Circuit Breakers

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Question Flash Barrier Protection on Circuit Breakers

    Wondering if you guys have any thoughts or opinions regarding flash barriers on circuit breakers.
    I have noticed over the past couple of years that more and more DB manufacturers have stopped supplying flash barriers when it comes to MCCB's rated over 100A.
    After much discussion with them the consensus is that when the DB manufacturers order the circuit breakers they don't come with the relevant flash barriers.
    Some say there is a minimum distance before flash barriers become compulsory but I can't seem to find anything on this.
    Your thoughts????

  2. #2
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Are you meaning those plastic partitions that slide in between the lugs that terminate on the breaker?

    This was the best pic I could find I'm afraid; Click image for larger version. 

Name:	breaker.jpg 
Views:	133 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	5896
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yes. Great safety feature but for some reason the board manufacturers no longer supply them.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    DURBAN
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    i stand to be corrected the flash barrier is sold as a separate part hence to reduce cost the board manufacturer does not supply . You should ask for them when you spec your board

  5. #5
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Merlin Gerin call them 'interphase barriers' and they're supplied with the Compact NS range which we often use but from memory I don't think they're mandatory for a standard 380v panel but I'd need to check and confirm this. There's also a completely enclosed plastic terminal shield that's a separate item but you can only use one or the other ie there's nowhere to slide in the interphase barriers on the enclosed terminal shield. Some of the add-on accessories don't accept the interphase barriers either, only the enclosed shield. Also if the breaker is on a base that allows it to be racked in and out you can't fit the barriers.

    Here's the relevant info from Merlin Gerin;

    MCCBs.pdf
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

Similar Threads

  1. Maximum overcurrent protection on a plug circuit
    By Dave A in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 28-Feb-14, 03:30 PM
  2. Din rail breakers fake or not
    By Pieter00 in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 24-Oct-13, 10:46 AM
  3. [Question] Circiut Breakers
    By Martinco in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22-Apr-11, 02:47 PM
  4. Circuit breakers
    By adrianh in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-May-10, 12:37 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •