Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Vodacom crashed in Durban

  1. #1
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Vodacom crashed in Durban

    Apparently Vodacom is having network problems in Durban. It's a pretty serious problem as it seems all cellphones on the Vodacom network in the affected area cannot make or receive calls. When you try calling out, the call attempt terminates immediately. Try calling an affected number, and you get a disconnect tone.

    Right now my office is discovering just how dependant we have become on cellphones for communicating with our field staff
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,240
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 310 Times in 268 Posts
    Yep - we experienced the same yesterday.

    Waited on the land-line for 35 minutes to be able to speak to someone who told us that it was a "network" problem and they didn't know when it would be sorted out.

    A general sms to all Vodacom users apologising to their customers afterwards would have been nice ...
    An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't. - Anatole France

  3. #3
    Gold Member irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 111 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike C View Post
    A general sms to all Vodacom users apologising to their customers afterwards would have been nice ...
    That would probably just exacerbate their network issues .

    Strange though, we've had similar problems off-and-on here in JHB over the last few years, on various networks (MTN / VC / CC / etc.). Dependent on where the recipient is located you get busy signals (even though both parties have full signal strength), then when he's moved to another suburb it works fine again. And from the other side phoning out simply drops the call within a second of dialling, move away 1km and all works well again. It's as if the problems are localized per tower - perhaps some overloading. But if you guys state the entire DBN has this issue there's probably something more serious going on further up to the main hub connecting the towers.
    Gold is the money of kings; silver is the money of gentlemen; barter is the money of peasants; but debt is the money of slaves. - Norm Franz
    And central banks are the slave clearing houses

Similar Threads

  1. Vodacom having troubles?
    By irneb in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23-May-11, 11:30 AM
  2. [Question] Vodacom SMS via e-mail
    By leuce in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-Apr-11, 01:42 PM
  3. Vodacom night owl
    By twinscythe12332 in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-Jan-11, 12:22 PM
  4. Server crashed!
    By I Robot in forum News Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-Dec-06, 03:30 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •