Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Pastel Partner V12 - Locate server/Open company issue

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Mariental, Namibia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Pastel Partner V12 - Locate server/Open company issue

    Good morning all

    I've been experiencing an issue with Pastel Partner V12.1.4 since last Friday and I simply cannot get it sorted.

    When in Pastel, the "Open a Company" screen is blank. I then proceed to "Manage" companies or to "Add Company". The next screen ("Company Database") is also blank. I then proceed to "Locate Server". It has never happened that the "Company Database" screen is empty, the server is usually automatically located. After locating the server manually, the "Company Database" screen returns to normal, and I can see all companies registered on the server. However, nothing I do from here enables me to open any company.

    I've tried the following already:
    Going through the registration process;
    Adding/removing companies from the "Company Database";
    Activating/De-activating companies from the "Company Database";
    Setting the manually selected server as default;
    Reinstalling both Pervasive and Pastel.

    Nothing works. The "Open a Company" screen remains blank, no matter what I do. Also, mine is the only computer in the office to have started with this problem.

    I would sincerely appreciate some help.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    832
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 176 Times in 145 Posts
    Am I correct in saying that the blank company screen is on another PC (a work station) and not the server machine itself?

    It happens occasionally to me too. Essentially the work station doesn't seem to "see" the server when you start up your computer. I can normally fix this by opening windows explorer, and under "computer", clicking on the network drive that you have mapped for Pastel. Usually there is a red cross there. After clicking on it, a few seconds pass and then the red cross disappears. Depending on your network setup, you may be asked for the servers password. When I start up Pastel again on the work station and open the company, its in the company screen again.

    I suspect its a networking issue of sorts.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Mariental, Namibia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @BusFact

    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, the error does occur on a seperate work station, but all mapped network folders are functioning perfectly. This was the first place I checked as it has also happened in the past that I could not access companies due to connection problems with server folders.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 393 Times in 340 Posts
    What operating system are you using? If Windows 8, have you recently upgraded to Windows 8.1? If so, then that is why you are having the problem.

    I have attached an email that I received from Pastel which may assist you.https://www.dropbox.com/s/umtnfcmbc1...s%208.pdf?dl=0
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    *** 20% DISCOUNT ON PASTEL XPRESS / PARTNER SOFTWARE UNTIL 15 DECEMBER 2017 ***

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Mariental, Namibia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Neville.

    Thank you for the reply.

    I upgraded to 8.1 at the end of last month, and only started using Pastel again on Thursday (when the problem started...). The Dropbox link you sent does not seem to work though, "Access to this link has been disabled. Please ask the owner of the shared link to send a new link to access the file or the folder."

  6. #6
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 393 Times in 340 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DSKotze View Post
    Hi Neville.

    Thank you for the reply.

    I upgraded to 8.1 at the end of last month, and only started using Pastel again on Thursday (when the problem started...). The Dropbox link you sent does not seem to work though, "Access to this link has been disabled. Please ask the owner of the shared link to send a new link to access the file or the folder."
    Sorry about that - I have attached the file again.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    *** 20% DISCOUNT ON PASTEL XPRESS / PARTNER SOFTWARE UNTIL 15 DECEMBER 2017 ***

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  7. Thank given for this post:

    DSKotze (08-Sep-14), MarkDriff (07-Jan-15)

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Mariental, Namibia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much for the assistance. I'll try it out and let you know what happens.

  9. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Mariental, Namibia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Everything's up and running again. Thanks again Neville!

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Nelspruit
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Neville.

    I am having the same issue in Partner 12 where one of the workstations updated to 8.1 and now cannot locate the server ( drive are mapped and connected ). The server pc is running pervaisive server for windows and is an Win 7 machine. The client pcs run the program from the pastel12.exe from the mapped drive.

    Do I apply the registry edit on the server or the Windows 8.1 machine? I did try edit the clients registry but had no luck there - when I locate server I can see the custom\registration folder and then click for it to show the server but it still does not hold it.

    Im sorry to bother you with this question and I hope it makes sense?

  11. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    abu dhabi
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hello everyone
    im facing the same problem as like DSKotze .im using pastel partner version 11 on window xp and pervesive version 2009 on server 2003 .everything was going ok but yesterday i face this problem.kindly solve my problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pastel Xpress - Can not open companies/locate server
    By J7J in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17-Sep-15, 09:35 AM
  2. [Question] Pastel: Open Company Problem
    By Elijah in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27-Nov-14, 06:28 AM
  3. Manufacturing company cost price in Pastel Partner v11
    By paulsevenster in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-Feb-14, 04:15 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-Nov-13, 01:01 PM
  5. Pastel Partner 12 Company data EMPTY.
    By OasisITS in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-Aug-13, 01:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •