Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Unable to file E@syfile EMP501 - Pre Submission Report incomprehensible!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to file E@syfile EMP501 - Pre Submission Report incomprehensible!

    I have filled in my recon and now can't file it; the "pre submission validation report is copied - the Box No. of our business looks correct to me and no code 3218 is used on the certificates.

    Help please!!

    ================================================== =======================
    Pre-Submission Validation Report
    ================================================== =======================
    STATUS FAILED
    ================================================== =======================
    LINE NUMBER: 0
    STATUS:
    Employer Postal Private Bag/PO Box/Other PO not supplied

    LINE NUMBER: 0
    STATUS:
    7090734973201402000000S0000008 CROOK : Cannot have value for codes 3221, 3222, 3223, 3229, 3247, 3249, 3250, 3251, 3280, 3253, 3254, 3262, 3255, 3256, 3257, 3258, 3259, 3260, 3261, 3279 if 3218 is specified

    ================================================== =======================
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,978
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by JLC View Post
    STATUS:
    Employer Postal Private Bag/PO Box/Other PO not supplied
    I hit this one with last year's interim submission.

    E@syfile has added some mandatory fields to the employer information area, and as usual we're supposed to be psychic.
    Worse still, some of the settings are a bit anal and unintuitive.

    Go to EMPLOYER ADMIN > View/Edit/Change
    Go to the Edit Employer section
    Go to Employer Address and Phone Information

    and complete / update any missing data.
    There will be missing data - just can't remember exactly what it was (I think it's the postal address data now that I think about it)

    What I do recall is the postal address section has a few curve balls, and I include a snapshot of the one section to demonstrate (in my instance) what you need in there for an ordinary post office box.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	postal-address.JPG 
Views:	361 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	4593

    If you leave those postal agency fields blank and don't have those N/A entries exactly like shown above, validation fails.


    UPDATE: With the E@syfile update for the period 201402, the postal agency fields need to be left blank if the postal address is a P.O. Box.

    All this is hidden in the latest manual on E@syfile, but of course for those of us who have been using it for a while... well, who among us struggling entrepreneurs always downloads the latest manual and peruses all the pages looking for changes from previous versions
    Last edited by Dave A; 24-May-14 at 04:07 PM. Reason: update
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  3. #3
    Platinum Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,240
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 310 Times in 268 Posts
    And you must click the little circle that indicates that it is a PO Box or a Private Bag.
    An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't. - Anatole France

  4. #4
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,978
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by JLC View Post
    and no code 3218 is used on the certificates.
    I've had a look at this issue and the code range relates to structured address data.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	structured-address.JPG 
Views:	558 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	4598

    Did you import data from a payroll package, perhaps?
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JLC View Post
    I have filled in my recon and now can't file it; the "pre submission validation report is copied - the Box No. of our business looks correct to me and no code 3218 is used on the certificates.

    Help please!!

    ================================================== =======================
    Pre-Submission Validation Report
    ================================================== =======================
    STATUS FAILED
    ================================================== =======================
    LINE NUMBER: 0
    STATUS:
    Employer Postal Private Bag/PO Box/Other PO not supplied

    LINE NUMBER: 0
    STATUS:
    7090734973201402000000S0000008 CROOK : Cannot have value for codes 3221, 3222, 3223, 3229, 3247, 3249, 3250, 3251, 3280, 3253, 3254, 3262, 3255, 3256, 3257, 3258, 3259, 3260, 3261, 3279 if 3218 is specified

    ================================================== =======================
    Had the same problem
    Please check your employees information and if you got a tick that postal address is the same as residential , uncheck and complete correct postal address

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks so much - I updated the P O address with " n/a" rather than leaving it leaving it blank and that problem has been solved! Still struggling with the code ref though.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Dave - the data was manually imported but this morning I went through the employer information, not changing anything, and then attempted to submit the EMP5 and it worked!

    Thanks for your post.

  8. #8
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,978
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Just chuffed to hear you came right, JLC. It gives me hope for the rest of us who still have to get going with this year's EMP501 return
    No doubt lots of us are going to face similar challenges this year.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JLC View Post
    Thanks so much - I updated the P O address with " n/a" rather than leaving it leaving it blank and that problem has been solved! Still struggling with the code ref though.
    For codes download file from SARS explaining reconciliation validation

    File SARS PAYE BRS PAYE Employer Reconciliation

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    PMB
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Please help me as well , I cant get my report to pass.

    Hi , I have change to address but I have one last error and I cant work it out.

    WARNING: Potential Penalty ; RPH Values for Codes 3263 and/or 3026 required.

    I would really appreciate any help on this.

    Thank You






    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    I hit this one with last year's interim submission.

    E@syfile has added some mandatory fields to the employer information area, and as usual we're supposed to be psychic.
    Worse still, some of the settings are a bit anal and unintuitive.

    Go to EMPLOYER ADMIN > View/Edit/Change
    Go to the Edit Employer section
    Go to Employer Address and Phone Information

    and complete / update any missing data.
    There will be missing data - just can't remember exactly what it was (I think it's the postal address data now that I think about it)

    What I do recall is the postal address section has a few curve balls, and I include a snapshot of the one section to demonstrate (in my instance) what you need in there for an ordinary post office box.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	postal-address.JPG 
Views:	361 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	4593

    If you leave those postal agency fields blank and don't have those N/A entries exactly like shown above, validation fails.

    All this is hidden in the latest manual on E@syfile, but of course for those of us who have been using it for a while... well, who among us struggling entrepreneurs always downloads the latest manual and peruses all the pages looking for changes from previous versions

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to use customised invoice template
    By Zains in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-Jan-13, 02:02 AM
  2. File name for Tax Type report (Pastel Xpress)
    By J7J in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-May-12, 10:06 AM
  3. [Question] Pastel Tax Box Report & Vat Detail report giving different figures!
    By Cin8 in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-May-12, 03:57 PM
  4. CSV file for e@syfile
    By liz in forum Tax Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-Sep-11, 03:20 PM
  5. Unable to use facility
    By Reggae in forum Administrative issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-Apr-08, 04:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •