Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Windows 8

  1. #1
    Platinum Member sterne.law@gmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    1,328
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 561 Times in 410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7

    Windows 8

    Is there anyone experiencing massive problems with windows 8?
    My computer keeps hanging, in a word document not even big programs, even starting up is a challenge. Or opening windows explorer.

    Internet a whole new challenge - as an experiment I connected onto a wifi, with my tablet in seconds, windows 8 laptop, gave up after 5 minutes!
    Anthony Sterne

    www.acumenholdings.co.za
    DISCLAIMER The above is merely a comment in discussion form and an open public arena. It does not constitute a legal opinion or professional advice in any manner or form.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,377
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 393 Times in 340 Posts
    I am using Windows 8 and, contrary to you, I find it much faster and responsive than Windows 7.
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    *** 20% DISCOUNT ON PASTEL XPRESS / PARTNER SOFTWARE UNTIL 15 DECEMBER 2017 ***

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  3. #3
    Diamond Member adrianh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,089
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 808 Times in 642 Posts
    Did you upgrade a old computer?
    How easily someone is offended is directly proportional to how stupid they are.
    ~GS Elevator

  4. #4
    Platinum Member sterne.law@gmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    1,328
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 561 Times in 410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Brand New DELL Inspiron 15
    CPU 887
    1.5GHZ
    2GB RAM
    64 bit system

    It may be old soon, when I smash IT!!!!
    Anthony Sterne

    www.acumenholdings.co.za
    DISCLAIMER The above is merely a comment in discussion form and an open public arena. It does not constitute a legal opinion or professional advice in any manner or form.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member adrianh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,089
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 808 Times in 642 Posts
    There must be something wrong with the software setup. My girls both have Acers with Windows 8 and the machines run fine.
    How easily someone is offended is directly proportional to how stupid they are.
    ~GS Elevator

  6. #6
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    That is the typical behavior of spyware or a bad hard drive.
    Also uninstall Rapport /Webroot spysweeper. If you are forced to by your bank get a different bank...
    Then run Malwarebytes quick scan and remove anything found. Reboot and do a full scan if anything found with previous scan.

    If not better download the free version of HD Tune and do a benchmark. It should not be lower than 35 Mbps.
    Hope it help.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300TG using Tapatalk 4

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  7. #7
    Diamond Member Justloadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,671
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 544 Times in 460 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Also very very very important, you need a minimum 4GB RAM, not the 2GB they give, I have no idea why they simply do not give you the 4Gb and charge you for it. The more memory, the faster the machine runs. If you can afford 8GB even better.
    What happens is that WIN7 and Win 8 use the hard drive as a cache memory, and this slows the machine down to snail speed, as it swaps the RAM in to the drive and back.
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar and LED lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

  8. Thanks given for this post:

    Dave A (07-Nov-13)

  9. #8
    Gold Member irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 111 Times in 97 Posts
    A bit of a write-up on next year's plans which "might" get Windows back to its former "glory"
    http://www.zdnet.com/can-windows-9-s...ws-7000025100/
    Gold is the money of kings; silver is the money of gentlemen; barter is the money of peasants; but debt is the money of slaves. - Norm Franz
    And central banks are the slave clearing houses

  10. #9
    Platinum Member desA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South East Asia
    Posts
    1,023
    Thanks
    512
    Thanked 126 Times in 99 Posts
    Have a technician check the memory card. It sounds either like a flaky chip, or poor card connection with mother-board. The contacts may need a clean. RAM can cause a world of heartache!
    In search of South African Technology Nuggets(R), for sale & trading in South East Asia.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It could also be background tasks running, I had that problem to, I ran a malware scan, antivirus and anti spyware, it all came back clean. I then went to msconfig checked background programs and services and found numerous tool bars and other stuff that downloaded with other freeware programs (check licensing t&c's they often sneak toolbars and other nonsense in with out you knowing), I removed them and did a registry defrag, I haven't had a problem since.

  12. Thanks given for this post:

    IanF (23-Jan-14)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 8
    By workshop in forum Business Online Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 29-May-13, 10:41 AM
  2. [Question] how to disable the "Windows deskop" in the task list, on Windows 7?
    By SilverNodashi in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-Feb-10, 11:12 AM
  3. WINDOWS XP vs WINDOWS VISTA
    By young in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15-Feb-10, 11:33 PM
  4. Windows 7
    By twinscythe12332 in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 08-Feb-10, 06:54 PM
  5. Removing windows media player from windows vista
    By twinscythe12332 in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-Jan-10, 07:28 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •