Thread: CCMA Case query

Thanks

CCMA Case query

One of my colleagues has a CCMA case with her old employee, she has come to me for advice and I have looked on the site but can find no answer to my query.

Her meeting is on Monday with her previous employees, and if they cannot resolve it on Monday then it will go into Arbitration .

My question is : On Monday does she tell them what she wants as compensation or how is that amount agreed upon.

The CCMA Case is for the following:

- Dismissal
    - Unfair Treatment
    - Defamation of Character
    - Invasion of Privacy
    - Harassment
    - Intimidation

She has all the evidence.

Thank you for assistance
    You miss 100% of the chances you never take

Suspended
    Thanks
    Rafael - I am not an expert on CCMA, but have been to one or two on behalf of some of our clients.
    The case is normally heard by the CCMA - Both parties have your chance to put forward your cases.
    Its not really about what "she" wants, more about what is rightfully owing or not owing according to the CCMA.
    They might find in her favour and work out if she was wrongfully dismissed etc and if she battled to find another job in which case they will award compensation if she is in the right depending on the circumstances. They are normally quite fair and if she has all evidence it would be in her favour, but bear in mind that her ex employer will also come with their evidence.

3. Thanks given for this post:

Rafael (28-Oct-13)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Blog Entries
    I have been involved in mediation where the employee just wanted "something". My offer was "zero", which she flatly rejected because it wasn't "something". Just what "something" might be took the two mediators a couple of hours to extract out of her.

So it certainly helps if the employee has a clear idea of what she wants. Actually getting it is another thing completely of course.

Quote Originally Posted by Rafael View Post