Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Easyfile EMP501 issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bellville
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Question Easyfile EMP501 issue

    Hi Everyone,

    Another issue popped up with E@syfile.

    When trying to open the EMP501 under declaration, it shows either a blank white screen, blank black screen or a popup that just says Adobe PDF Document

    Has anyone experienced this issue? Adobe reader is up to date.

    Appreciate any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,980
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,463 Times in 2,068 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    It's probably hanging on one of the "check in with an online server for updates" tests along the way. My best suggestion is try after normal business hours, or try with the computer offline.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  3. #3
    Platinum Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,242
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 310 Times in 268 Posts
    Hi marchant. Is your E@syfile up to date.? They released v 6.40 fairly recently.
    An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't. - Anatole France

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bellville
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    It's probably hanging on one of the "check in with an online server for updates" tests along the way. My best suggestion is try after normal business hours, or try with the computer offline.
    Okay thanks Dave will give it a try.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bellville
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike C View Post
    Hi marchant. Is your E@syfile up to date.? They released v 6.40 fairly recently.
    Jip, updated everyone's E@syfile recently.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,242
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 310 Times in 268 Posts
    Hi marchant,

    Sometimes the Java needs to be updated (or at one stage even downgraded). Also check that you have latest Adobe Air and Flashplayer.

    Sounds like you have updated on other machines as well. Do they all have the same issue?
    An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't. - Anatole France

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Gabrielle

    Why does version 6.4 keep saying 'failed to connect to the update server' when I open it

  8. #8
    Platinum Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,242
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 310 Times in 268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielleb View Post
    Why does version 6.4 keep saying 'failed to connect to the update server' when I open it
    Hi gabrielleb - mine has done that as well since the update. Presumably it will only get fixed once they need us to do another update.
    An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't. - Anatole France

  9. #9
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,980
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,463 Times in 2,068 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielleb View Post
    Why does version 6.4 keep saying 'failed to connect to the update server' when I open it
    Yep - seems they've successfully managed to introduce a new erroneous error message - it probably should be saying "no new update available" or something along those lines.

    I see a previous bug that was fixed in a previous version is back too - when your attempted submission fails the pre-submission validation stage, you're supposed to be able to go to utilities and get a report of what failed. However, the report on the failed submission simply isn't there.

    My other favourite irritation, the refusal to be able to get missing tax numbers for new personnel that already have a tax number allocated, despite you having ID etc. captured when you synchronise... Honestly, why don't they just do it. The extra faf trying to get an income tax number from someone who has never had to pay a cent in tax in their life is rather irritating, especially knowing the problem could be so easily solved.

    Copy of ID - no problem. Got anything with your income tax number on it - most often they don't even know they are registered for income tax.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    When I syncronise with efiling it says completed with error 'unable to syncronise some taxpayers info' am having huge problems! I filed emp501 on the previous version and when I updated it told me my submission was rejected due to incorrect format for employer postal address!!! Had to go into employer admin and re put in box number even though it was there! Resubmitted and then was accepted except my statement if acc was a mess with everything douubled up!!! Scanned everything and emailes sars explaining their mistake! No. Answer but few days later the acc said nil balance owed and everything double reversed..... But now it says on efiling that submission is finalised and although empsa says I don't owe them, all of a sudden parts of may june and july payments cannot be allocated! How this is possible when they have everything there in black and white.... I just don't know! Have been trying for 3 weeks now to go into dashboard and allocate but it just says 'emp501 recon submitted, wait 48 hrs and check again' so every 2 days I do this and it has just reverted back to the same figures and unallocated amounts are back! So many hours and no joy! I give up!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Late submissions of EMP501 Reconciliation
    By Elijah in forum Tax Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-May-17, 04:31 PM
  2. 201302 EMP501
    By Jennajay in forum Tax Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-May-13, 07:00 PM
  3. EMP501 Recon 1 April - 31 May 2012
    By geraldenek in forum Tax Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-Apr-12, 09:46 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-Oct-11, 09:20 PM
  5. [Question] EMP501 - Which month to include amount?
    By J7J in forum Tax Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-Apr-11, 03:24 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •