Thread: Ballpark tax estimate for new PTY LTD

Thanks

Question Ballpark tax estimate for new PTY LTD

Hi there,

I've just recently returned to South Africa after a long stint in the UK. I am now contracting for my UK company, and have set up my own Pty Ltd. company here in SA. I have never contracted before, and don't have a clue what the tax will work out to. I've not yet commenced working, so I still have some time to inform myself, but I was wondering if anyone could give me a rough steer on the level of tax I would be paying.

A bit of info:
    - I am the only director of the pty ltd, I do not have anyone else working for me.
    - Expected turnover per annum = R750,000

Are there any particular tips for how I should proceed? Naturally I will be going to an accountant, but prefer going in with a little bit of a better idea than I have now (which is none!)

Thanks!

Thanks
    I'm far from an expert, but let me share my experience with you:

At that level of turnover, you'd technically qualify for the "small business" tax rate - which is nice. I cant even remember the exact rate, but any tax blurb or the sars website will tell you it (high income free threshold and lowish tax rates)