Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pastel Run-time error 380 Invalid Property value

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Paarl
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Pastel Run-time error 380 Invalid Property value

    Hallo

    I'm new to the forum and posting with the hope that someone can help me. Just today I started receiving the error on all my companies when I try to view anything (tax report,TB,ledger etc)

    I can open all the companies with no trouble. I haven't tried processing again, but when I take my backup to another person in my building he can do everything just fine. I also have a backup that was created on his computer that works fine on my pastel.

    This appears on all my versions of pastel (Xpress 9, Partner 11 and Xpress 12) that I have tested.

    It seems to be something with all the companies created on my computer.

    Can someone please help me with this?

    Regards
    Pieter

  2. #2
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,374
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 392 Times in 339 Posts
    Hi Pieter,

    Make a backup of your data.


    Make sure there are no open batches in your live data


    Search for the following files - accdflt*.* and acccntrl*.* in the company directory in windows explorer


    Delete all files with number extensions e.g. 000, 001, 002.  Do NOT delete files with dat extensions


    Reset your printer and fonts in File-Printer/Fonts Setup
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    *** 20% DISCOUNT ON PASTEL XPRESS / PARTNER SOFTWARE UNTIL 15 DECEMBER 2017 ***

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Paarl
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Neville! What a man.

    Seems to be the new printer that is at fault. I selected one of the old ones and it worked fine.

    Suggestions on how I can get the printer to work with pastel? It is a RICOH Aficio MP C300PCL6 model.

    Appreciate the help.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,374
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 392 Times in 339 Posts
    Hi Pieter,

    Make sure that the printer is set to A4 paper size (not Letter) by editing the printer properties in the Control Panel of Windows.

    Then, in Pastel, go to File...Printer/Fonts Setup, click on the "Set Printer" button and select the printer from the list. Finally, click on the "Copy to All Tabs" button at the bottom.
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    *** 20% DISCOUNT ON PASTEL XPRESS / PARTNER SOFTWARE UNTIL 15 DECEMBER 2017 ***

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Paarl
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. Got it to work

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Runtime error

    Quote Originally Posted by Neville Bailey View Post
    Hi Pieter,

    Make a backup of your data.


    Make sure there are no open batches in your live data


    Search for the following files - accdflt*.* and acccntrl*.* in the company directory in windows explorer


    Delete all files with number extensions e.g. 000, 001, 002.  Do NOT delete files with dat extensions


    Reset your printer and fonts in File-Printer/Fonts Setup
    I hope that this is actually relevant to this thread.

    We get a similar issue with the runtime error, and this is only affecting one user. I have inserted screenshots below, this is when the user is trying to export to Excel.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	blob1497360758837.png 
Views:	47 
Size:	11.5 KB 
ID:	6797

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	blob1497365162739.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	8.3 KB 
ID:	6798

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I've experienced the exact same thing - only with one user. I've done everything even Pastel Support didn't think about - they kept telling me it's the printer. Nothing worked. Then, it hit me, Pastel's new password changing screen. If you kept your password the same since upgrading from older versions, Pastel seems to be wanting letters and numbers. User has changed password containing both letters and numbers, no error since. So I'm happy.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-Apr-13, 12:11 PM
  2. Pastel Error 380
    By mprentice@polka.co.za in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-Dec-12, 03:23 PM
  3. Pastel Run Time error 401
    By ronish in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-Aug-12, 08:20 PM
  4. PROPERTY VALUATIONS OBJECTIONS CUT OFF TIME APPROACHES BUT...
    By Doug B in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-Mar-12, 08:52 AM
  5. Pastel error 76
    By Martinco in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-Apr-11, 10:26 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •