Thread: Qualifications for Installation of a geyser

Thanks

Qualifications for Installation of a geyser

Hi
    I have received conflicting information regarding who can fit and wire up a replacement geyser in a house. ie if your geyser bursts and it requires replacing, can a plumber do the whole installation including the wiring, or does one need an electrician to attend to the electrics.

The understanding is that a plumber can work from the isolator at the geyser to the geyser without an electrician required to be present.

Anyone with knowledge of the regulations I would appreciate some insight.

Silver Member
    Thanks
    Earlier this week, my geyser was replaced by a qualified plumber. My layman understanding is that he disconnected the old geyser at the geyser point, and reconnected the new one after installing.

No electrician was present.

Thanks
    as a qualified plumber myself, i have installed many geysers & done the electrical part myself
    esp when the new geyser is being installed in the same place as the old one- its not difficult/tricky

all i do is switch off the geyser at the isolator or in some cases, the mains and then disconnect the wires connected to the geyser, making sure to remember/note down exactly how it was installed-then i connect it back the same way onto the new geyser
    so far, no problems

yes, when its a completely new installation, then i tell the owner to get an electrician to handle that part.
    A “conspiracy theory” no longer means an event explained by a conspiracy. Instead, it now means any explanation, or even a fact, that is out of step with the government’s explanation and that of its media pimps.

Thanks
    Thanks for the feedback.
    I am working on a project that will involve the fitting of a timing device to the geyser mains supply. It will be fitted between the isolator and the geyser itself. It is a simple wiring between from the isolator to the device (Live and Neutral) and device to Geyser terminals.