Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Vodacom is nuts..or is it just my phone?

  1. #1
    Full Member Simimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Vodacom is nuts..or is it just my phone?

    Hey guys!

    I have a Vodacom prepaid account, Now for some weird reason my cell phone decides not to make a call after it has hit R3,99..It never used to do that up until a couple of months ago..I just never bothered trying to figure what was causing it, but now its getting quite annoying. I have a feeling it has something to do with my tariff plan..but I don't know.

    Does anyone know what could be causing it and does anyone else have the same problem?

    If I can't figure this out I guess I will have to give one of Vodacom's stores a visit.

  2. #2
    Full Member Cpt Chaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    I had the same problem but then after a second try it told me that my balance is below x amount and call limit will be reached soon in the same sentence it states that I have insufficient funds and then the call goes through
    For all your I.T. Support in Cape Town contact Dynamic Support.

    "You must be the change you want to see in the world. ~ Mahatma Gandhi"

  3. #3
    Full Member Simimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, It stops at that amount and I really have that amount available, In the sentence is states that I can not make a call because I have less than R3,99 in my account and that I have reached my call limit..I'm not Albert Einstein but I do know that it does not cost R3,99 to send an SMS or to make a call for that matter.

  4. #4
    Gold Member Dave S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Randburg
    Posts
    733
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 116 Times in 90 Posts
    Is it not to do with VDC thinking that if you were to make a call they would have to cut you off in mid sentence? so they don't let you start the call in the first place?
    Today Defines Tomorrow
    Errare Humanum Est Remitto Divinus

  5. #5
    Full Member Simimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's correct. They don't let me make a call, send an SMS..do any networking at all. I changed my tariff plan, again, a few days ago and it still does the same thing..So I guess it has nothing to do with it at all. Most other people get cut off at 99c, I used to as well but now its R3,99. Truly makes no sense what could have triggered this.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member Justloadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,671
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 544 Times in 460 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Simimano View Post
    That's correct. They don't let me make a call, send an SMS..do any networking at all. I changed my tariff plan, again, a few days ago and it still does the same thing..So I guess it has nothing to do with it at all. Most other people get cut off at 99c, I used to as well but now its R3,99. Truly makes no sense what could have triggered this.
    Yes it does, it's more money in their kitty
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar and LED lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

  7. #7
    Full Member Simimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yup..That's true. More money for them..less airtime for me. Lucky bastards.

    It wouldn't make a difference if a switched to a different network either..I'm just one person, It would be a speck on the windshield to some company as big as Vodacom.

    I don't plan on switching at this point, but I also don't feel like going to wait an hour in one of their shops to speak to someone about it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    if you dont have data bundles in your phone sim it stops making calls at anything above R0.00 so as to catter for your online services.

  9. #9
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    It happened to me too and I just said F**of to the person on the other side and the call went through....

    Moving over to CellC on 1 May anyway....

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Spent some time at Gateway trying to find a solution to my iphone and at the same time my mate had to renew his contract with Vodacom, what a joke, he renews the contracts gets a new phone, but sorry we don't give out sims cards, we had to go across the passage and get a sim card from a different Vodacom shop, what made me laugh, new applications and renewing contract no que, you walk in go straight to a cubicle, a couple minutes later you have a renewed contract and brand new phone ( no he didn't buy an iphone) but then we had to go across the passage and sit in a que and wait to get a new sim card, anyway that gets sorted out. He realises that all his contacts are still on his blackberry, so we go to another que to be told it cost another R250 to transfer all his contacts from one phone to another (MTN in Pinetown did it for free). He has a problem with his blackberry messaging, keeps coming up on the screen when ever he switches the phone on, it could just be a setting thing, so he ask Vodacom to have a look, they want another R250 to look, so we walk down the passage and ther eis a table setup with blackberry buddies, they sort it out for free.

    He wanted a stylus for his new touch screen phone, so we look at a stylus in one of the shops, R100, I take my stylus which I paid R30 for exactly the same thing so I ask the lady if it had R70 worth of gold hidden in, I do understand they pay huge rent in Gateway.

    The worse part about the whole renew thing, get home to find the sim cards is a small one and doesn't fit into the new phone, so he contacts the Vodacom help line, they tell to go to the nearest Vodacom shop which in in Sanlam centre, they tell us sorry we have to go all the way back to Gateway because they are a franchise and cannot issue him a new sim card. We contact Vodacom help line again to be told they should do the sim swop, but they refuse and we had to travel all the way back to Gateway to change the sim to the correct size sim.

    I have my issues with MTN, but man at least I don't have this travel to Gateway issue every time something goes wrong with MTN. You go to the closest store and they sort out the problems.

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] Vodacom SMS via e-mail
    By leuce in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-Apr-11, 01:42 PM
  2. Where are my Nuts?
    By Debbiedle in forum Business Finance Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-Jun-08, 03:11 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •