Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NETWORK CONNECTION PROBLEMS

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    NETWORK CONNECTION PROBLEMS

    Has anyone any suggestions on how to fix a network connectivity problem I am having. I have a windows 7 (64bit) bootcamp partition and am connecting it to a network (not a domain). I am able to see all the computers on the network except the Pastel server which is a windows 2003 server and a Belina payroll server which is a standard XP machine. I have flushed the ips I have checked the TCP/IP settings, I have checked the workgroup settings. As I mentioned I can all other computers on the network apart from the two mentioned.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When you go to your network folder you will get a yellow strip on the top of the page click on that and click network discovery on select your choice you will see the list of computers connected to your network weather WiFi or LAN.

  3. #3
    Gold Member irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jhb
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 111 Times in 97 Posts
    Are those "servers" set to a different Workgroup (seeing as you're not using a domain)? It's highly recommended to use the same Workgroup name throughout (and turn off W7's Homegroup feature if you've got a mix of older Win machines as in your case). This would make network connections much easier.

    You're still lucky you're not having to connect to a 2000 (or even NT4) machine. That's simply impossible through Vista / W7. Ms decided those are not used any more, even though they are used extensively in old setups. If you've got one of these, then you're relegated back to XP as latest Win desktop.
    Gold is the money of kings; silver is the money of gentlemen; barter is the money of peasants; but debt is the money of slaves. - Norm Franz
    And central banks are the slave clearing houses

  4. #4
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    When you change network settings, it's worthwhile doing a restart - especially on older XP machines to make sure the new settings are actually being used.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by monaknight03 View Post
    When you go to your network folder you will get a yellow strip on the top of the page click on that and click network discovery on select your choice you will see the list of computers connected to your network weather WiFi or LAN.
    Thanks so much for your reply I have done that and I see all the computers except the two I mentioned. If I go to one of the machines on the network and I ping the ip address of the computer I am trying to connect I can do that no problem. If i go on the problematic computer and I ping the ip address of the other computers on the network I have no success but if I ping the computer name it replies. The problem with this is that I am using Pastel and Belina and need the ip addresses in order to connect successfully

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi there, I have checked the workgroup settings and they are definitely all the same "workgroup"

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Alberton
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I def restart each time I make any changes.... but its win 7 OS however I still do the restart.

  8. #8
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Have you tried disabling IPV6 and only have IPV4 enabled?
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

Similar Threads

  1. Electrical Gas Stove connection and certificate
    By Leecatt in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29-Apr-16, 09:28 PM
  2. Internet connection speed
    By Martinco in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-Oct-12, 12:29 PM
  3. [Question] Changing colours for the switch connection
    By jinxster in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-Sep-12, 07:15 AM
  4. 230 volt generator with a V-O-V earth connection
    By murdock in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 30-Jun-11, 10:34 PM
  5. Problems with 3G
    By Chatmaster in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-Nov-07, 04:42 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •