Thread: Hello - subscription zero rated or VAT exempt

Thanks

Hello - subscription zero rated or VAT exempt

Hi everyone,

My name is Clair

I wonder if anyone can help me, I need to find out id Data base subscriptions are either zero rated or VAT exempt.
    I have read through the VAT 404 Guide and still have no clue.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Welcome to TFSA, Clair.

Quote Originally Posted by Clair View Post
    I need to find out id Data base subscriptions are either zero rated or VAT exempt.
    Which Data base?
    Who is the supplier?

p.s. - may I move this thread to the tax forum

3. Thanks given for this post:

Clair (12-Jul-12)

Thanks
    Hi,

Yes you can move it,

I am a bookkeeper for a subscription agency, (WWIS), The Data Based Journals and archives that we supply to the Universities have always been charged at Zero Rated, I would just like to make sure all is in order. The data subscriptions are from European companies, we have special permission from the Reserve Bank to charge Foreign currency to SA Universities, We charge VAT on SA publications.

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    I would say Zero Rated. When I invoice foreign companies for goods and servioces, the VAT is Zero.

However you have to be careful though. If they physically walk in and collect goods, you have to charge the 14% VAT, and when they reach the border/Airport, they would then be refunded their VAT from the invoice, as it will get an export customs stamp on the invoice, which is proof of export of the goods.

If a transport company acts on their behalf and collects goods, then you require an exporters license, and the invoice must be stamped by the bank, and would be Zero rated.
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar pumping, Solar Geyser & Solar Security lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

6. Thanks given for this post:

Clair (12-Jul-12)

Thanks