Thread: help with student tax! confused!!

Thanks

help with student tax! confused!!

i am a student that has currently undertaken vac work for a company.. the daily rate that i am recieving is R400 i am paid weekly which totals to R2000 a week. i was told that i was being taxed at 25% which is the rate at which Non-standard employment is taxed,which totals R500 a week for tax(totalling R2000 for 4 weeks work). i am confused now as to why i am being taxed if my income is way under the tax thresh hold. do i have to submit a tax return and then i will recieve the money back? how does this work i am confused..please help

Thanks
    Hi there,

The 25% tax deduction is a standard rate deducted from casual staff or some times independent contractors.

Although you'll need to wait until July 2013 (!!) to receive your money back, provided you remain below a 25% tax bracket, you will receive some or all of that deducted tax back on assessment when you submit your 2013 tax return (I'm assuming you've earned that money in the current month?).

Just ensure that come May/June 2013 you remember to request your IRP5 (or IT3a) tax certificate from them.

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Awesome, you are getting awesome pay for a student.
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar pumping, Solar Geyser & Solar Security lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

4. Thanks given for this post:

Nickolai Naydenov (17-Jul-12)

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidvN View Post
    Hi there,

The 25% tax deduction is a standard rate deducted from casual staff or some times independent contractors.

Although you'll need to wait until July 2013 (!!) to receive your money back, provided you remain below a 25% tax bracket, you will receive some or all of that deducted tax back on assessment when you submit your 2013 tax return (I'm assuming you've earned that money in the current month?).