Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Monitor flickering colours

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Midrand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Monitor flickering colours

    Hi hall, brand new to Forum SA and was browsing the different topics. Figured I might as well jump in with a question / problem I am having.

    I run a Mecer laptop ( heavely sooped up to run Autocad) as well as a Dell as a second monitor. The other day, after a power failure, the monitor started acting up. It keeps flashing colours, when it has no feed. Flashing as in red, green, blue etc. Also, I can't turn it off when there is no feed ether. As soon as the laptop goes into sleep mode, or shuts down the problem begins.

    Form what I could find on the net it is ether the video card that is playing up or it is the monitor itself, which is on the way out. Can anyone, in the know, confirm any of this?

  2. #2
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    You can only check by a process of elimination, connect the monitor to a different PC or another monitor to the laptop....

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  3. Thanks given for this post:

    tec0 (08-Jun-12)

  4. #3
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Some monitors have an anti screen burn facility which if it's enabled in the monitor settings will cause flashing colours and other weird effects during hibernation periods. Try resetting you monitor to default factory settings and see if that stops the problem. If not it could be either a monitor or graphics card issue or even a cable problem. The easiest way is to try another cable and monitor and if the fault persists then it's a graphics problem. Just a process of elimination really. If you don't have a spare monitor to try then you'll have to go about it the other way around and take your suspect monitor to a friends PC.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  5. Thank given for this post:

    Streamline Imports (08-Jun-12), tec0 (08-Jun-12)

  6. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Midrand
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It would appear that the factory settings idea helped. Its all back to normal again. What I never understand is how it got of track in the first place? I never played with any of the settings - working one day - bombed out the next....

  7. #5
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Well, glad it's sorted Streamline, hope it stays that way.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

Similar Threads

  1. Computer bandwidth/network monitor
    By twinscythe12332 in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-Sep-11, 10:36 AM
  2. Flickering LED problem
    By skatingsparks in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 23-May-11, 07:27 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •