Thread: Legal forms of diversification of a CC

Suspended
    Thanks

Legal forms of diversification of a CC

Hi,

I own a Closed Corporation. I like this form of business because I am not registered as a Director.

Question 1: What is the latest regulation and process to change to a "Trading As" name?
    Question 2: I want to diversify into different types of businesses - e.g Retail, Services, Import/Export. I'd like to do these as separate legal entities, but under the umbrella of the existing CC. What kind of options do I have - hopefully without needing to convert to a company?

Thanks,
    Eldon

Silver Member
    Thanks
    I'm no expert in this area but from what I know CCs are regulated by the old companies act so I don't think much is changed, there are many loopholes in a CC hence why they doing free changes to companies. Instead of trading as I think it's better to change the name of the CC because financial institutions don't recognise trading as anymore. I see where you are going with a holding company and it's not a bad idea in order to protect assets and minimize tax, I'm just not sure if a CC can be a holding company.
    ---There is no traffic at the extra mile---

Suspended
    Thanks
    Thank you, Nickolai.

I did a bit more research. A CC may own a Company. If I do that, however, I have the additional Companie's Act requirements to meet and have to nominate the necessary Directors.

Gold Member
    Thanks
    Hi Eldon
    There is little difference between being a member of a cc versus a director of a company. Both are charged with ultimate management and essentially have the same fiduciary duties.