Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What to invest in in 2012.

Thanks

Question What to invest in in 2012.

i have some spare cash that i want to invest .

something with a reasonable return (better than the banks) for a short term. 2years +
    i already paid of all my debt like credit cards and other debt that i had for 2011.
    i currently have some money invested at allan gray, but obviously that is long term.

any advice would be appreciated !

Bronze Member
    Thanks
    Im no expert but have found Unit Trusts to be a really good opportunity. Your money is managed by professionals who know what theyre doing, do it every minute of everyday while you're doing other things. It can be a lot of fun monitoring your money as information is updated daily and available on-line. We have found Allan Gray to be excellent but I'm sure there are many excellent Fund Managers. Go on-line and do a little research.

Bronze Member
    Thanks
    I also meant to add that I understand the beauty of unit trusts to be that there are so many different unit trusts offering a huge variety of risk profiles, enabling one to move across funds as and when one needs/wants to alter a risk profile. Funds also offer different return horizons - i.e. some offer quicker returns than others BUT beware the risks attached with higher returns are often also higher so caution is prudent. I have chosen to stick with large Fund Managers that offers a vast portfolio of funds, as moving funds fom one manager to another often costs more than keeping it in 1 manager portfolio.

I've got to be extremely cautious as I am not a registered investment advisor and so not authorised to provide advice. I am talking purely from my own experiences and am legally prevented from giving advice, so you need to do your own research and take advice from an authorised advisor before investing.

Thanks
    @gac