Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Network Monitoring Program

  1. #1
    Gold Member Singhms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pretoria (National)
    Posts
    979
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts

    Network Monitoring Program

    Hello Everyone,

    Over the last few days I see my internet connection downloading a lot of data while I am not doing anything.

    I made sure my firewall is set to block everything just in case and still its doing this!

    Is there a program I can use to check what is using this data?

    Thanks,
    Visit our online store SINGHMS RETAIL and sign up to receive a 10% discount off your first purchase.
    Follow us on our facebook page SINGHMS RETAIL FACEBOOK for instant updates.
    New products and discounts added daily.

  2. #2
    Gold Member Mark Atkinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    796
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 150 Times in 117 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Hi Amith,

    You can try Netlimiter.
    "The way to gain a good reputation, is to endeavor to be what you desire to appear." - Socrates
    Mark My Words - Arbitrary thoughts on ordinary things

    LinkedIn | Twitter

    Bafokke Shirts - South Africa's No. 1 Fan Shirt!

  3. #3
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,404
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 855 Times in 688 Posts
    I'd start in msconfig and see what's running in the background. Do a full anti-virus/malware scan as well for good measure.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  4. #4
    Gold Member Singhms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pretoria (National)
    Posts
    979
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
    Thanks for the replies, I will have a look at net limiter and msconfig.

    I ran a full virus scan with latest updates etc... and all comes out clean.

    I actually think its google chrome that is updating every time I use the browser. I was monitoring the version number and it seems to be changing every time I have those spikes in data use.

    The thing is I cannot find an option in the chrome browser to disable updates! - Anyone know how to do so?

    Thanks
    Visit our online store SINGHMS RETAIL and sign up to receive a 10% discount off your first purchase.
    Follow us on our facebook page SINGHMS RETAIL FACEBOOK for instant updates.
    New products and discounts added daily.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,404
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 855 Times in 688 Posts
    Do what I do for all applications that want to check for updates every ten minutes, exclude it from internet access in your firewall

    only joking
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  6. #6
    Diamond Member adrianh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,089
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 808 Times in 642 Posts
    @Mark

    I installed Netlimiter 3.0 Pro but it sure is a "technical" program. If I start up Explorer I can see it talking to the router. I then go to my website in explorer. Explorer now doesn't show any activity but I do see the activity in my anti-virus under my websites IP address. Whois shows me the URL of my ISP. Traceroute also shows the route to the ISP.

    Now this is all very interesting but I can't see the actual endpoint - so if a website spawns various endpoints how am I going to see who they are?
    How easily someone is offended is directly proportional to how stupid they are.
    ~GS Elevator

  7. #7
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    830
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 112 Times in 90 Posts
    What OS you using & what internet connection you using? Dongle connections have extra programs running & Win 7 Task manager has Resource Monitor feature to look up things that are running in the background.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member adrianh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,089
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 808 Times in 642 Posts
    I'm running XP. Yes, you can use resource monitor to see which apps are running in the backround but the question is which one is eating up the internet bandwidth. Once you know which one it is then how do you block it. There is another tool one could use to see what is going on and it is called TCPView. You'll be surprised to see how many connections are actually opened by visiting some websites. Anyway, yes, you could block the apps directly from their option settings, or from the firewall or from the anti-virus once you know which program is causing the problem. Netlimiter shows you exactly who the bugger is and how much bandwidth it is using up. The point I was making about Netlimiter is that you have to know your way around the internal workings fairly well to work out that internet comms might be routing through antivirus and that you see the communication taking place in the anti-virus and not in the offending app. You also need to be aware of the fact that resolving the offending IP address using whois is not straight forward.

    ....Nothing is ever simple!
    How easily someone is offended is directly proportional to how stupid they are.
    ~GS Elevator

  9. #9
    Full Member ghostwriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mpumalanga
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    here fishy fishy…

  10. #10
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    830
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 112 Times in 90 Posts
    With resource monitor you can identify the process networking and stop it. Once identified you can google the process name to find out what is is before stopping it just in case it is vital. When I was using CellC I discovered something that was forever sending & receiving and after deleting it my speed was better and my bandwidth went further. A fresh backup or restore point before deleting a process is a good idea.

Similar Threads

  1. Need opinions on this coaching program
    By Barreta in forum Business Online Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Oct-11, 12:59 PM
  2. [Question] Program for uploading to FTP
    By Martinco in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 24-May-11, 10:22 AM
  3. [Opinion] Jobbing accounting program
    By Hein Holtzhausen in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-Apr-11, 02:54 PM
  4. [Question] looking for a good backup program for a small Windows network
    By SilverNodashi in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-Mar-11, 09:18 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •