Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help Needed with Quick Book installation on second computer

  1. #1
    Email problem
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Western Cape
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Help Needed with Quick Book installation on second computer

    Hi, I am desperately trying to install QB onto a second computer. Initially QB was installed on a stand alone computer. A second licence was purchased and we have downloaded the latest version onto the second computer. The computer are not communication to each other. Any ideas??

  2. #2
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,977
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    If you're trying to do multi-user access, both licences would have to be on the same version (and they'd have to be multi-user licences).

    What concerns me a bit though is you saying the computers are not communicating with each other. So let's try to narrow this down a bit.

    Can one PC access the shared folder of the other?
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  3. #3
    Diamond Member Justloadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,671
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 544 Times in 460 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    You also have to connect the RJ45 cable from one PC to the other, back to back. Not sure if it will work through a hub. Mine are direct from one PC to the other. One is then the main and the other the slave.
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar and LED lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

  4. #4
    Gold Member Martinco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rustenburg
    Posts
    927
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked 136 Times in 108 Posts
    As far as I have it, you must use a "cross over" cable if you connect PC to PC and a regular cable if you go via a switch/router.
    Martin Coetzee
    Supplier of Stainless Steel Band and Buckle and various fastening systems. Steel, Plastic, Galvanized, PET and Poly woven.
    We solve your fastening problems.
    www.straptite.com

    You may never know what results will come from your actions, but if you do nothing, there will be no results... Rudy Malan 05/03/2011

  5. #5
    Diamond Member Justloadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,671
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 544 Times in 460 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    To be honest I have no idea with respect to the cross over cable, but it sounds logical.
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar and LED lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

Similar Threads

  1. Quick reply text box
    By AndyD in forum Administrative issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-Apr-11, 02:14 PM
  2. the get rich quick formula
    By murdock in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-Apr-10, 07:32 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •